Joshua Tree ~ Arrival Day (by Emi McLellan)

We’re in session! This is a guest post by NBTSC camper Emi McLellan.

emi-1060436

Camp. I think most of us know what it feels like the first night to be surrounded by new and old friends and the overwhelmingly dizzying effect it has. We all come together old and new and become one family for a week or more, it’s one of the most magical things that I have ever had the pleasure of experiencing.

This session my first night was filled with laughter, new friends, echoing rooms, sadly locked pools, and so much more. I was worried in the beginning that camp wasn’t going to be “right” or “the same” as it has been for me in Vermont. I was quickly proven wrong when my beautiful friends who have been able to make it to this session bombarded me and quickly introduced me to new friends. It was all love and hugs just like usual, we moved into our rooms and quickly ran back to people to give more hugs and meet new friends.

We had a mini meeting and talked about what was to come, we had advisee groups and dinner, then a wee bit of free time until opening ceremony started. It was just like the camp I know and love just a different side of the country and so so so many new beautiful souls to get to know. I ended up going to bed fairly early seeing as I am three hours ahead of everyone here; I had an amazing night though and can’t wait to get to know everyone better.

tumblr_nievbbEodr1qb9gx2o1_1280

photos of Emi and Arrival Day cuddlers by Reanna Alder.

