Day 6 (Oregon Session 1 ~ by Milo)

We’re in session at Camp Latgawa in Oregon! This is a guest post by NBTSC camper Milo. 

IMG_3890

We’re all woken up the same way we have been the previous 5 days – to an angelic voice coupled with beautiful strings. By the time breakfast begins half an hour later, the campground is already filled with laughter, love, and light. Morning meeting is filled with much of the same, and I can’t describe how happy I was to be sitting there watching everyone listen in on what the last day held in store for us.

Grace and Evan handle the meeting nearly perfectly and while everyone is sad to be leaving, especially myself, we’re all ready to be home for however long that will last. Advisee time is perfect as always. My group played hotseat and took pictures by the creek, and I heard others did things just as amazing. The next few hours are full of conversations about music, dancing, emotions and the lack thereof, and everything else you can possibly fit into a morning. My favorite was a conversation I had with a few other campers about what we’ll all be doing when we get back home.

Creation Circle meets up during lunch, and we finish everything we need to get done. A few hours of free time in between lunch and dinner fill out the day, and then evening meeting rolls around. The mood is tangibly depressed, as if a weight is bearing down on every person there. The staff impersonated the graduates (culminators) in a hilarious skit that had me laughing harder than I had in weeks.

Closing ceremony has always been hard for me. Seeing older campers, people I look up to and respect, move to the next phase of their lives is a humbling thing. Nolan’s speech had me tearing up, and intention circle was as powerful as always, even if I wasn’t paying as much attention as I should’ve. I decide to stay up all night, and pass the time by playing music in the lodge, cuddling, having fun, and thinking about all the reasons I keep coming back to NBTSC. The day was happy, depressing, cruelly short, and absurdly long. And I loved every second of it.

