Staff Orientation continues… (Oregon Session 2 ~ by June Kinch)

We’re almost ready to welcome the next round of campers at Camp Myrtlewood in Oregon – NBTSC’s home since 1996. This is a guest post by new advisor June Kinch.

photo of June by Dandy Denial
photo of June by Dandy Denial

This morning I woke up early, excited to get started on the work of making Not Back To School Camp happen. This is my first session working at NBTSC, but my kids have been campers since 2011, and I’ve been eager to get a peek at what happens behind the scenes that has made it such a valuable experience for them. The answer, perhaps not surprisingly, is a whole lot of work, and love.

Today was meeting day. My first one began at 10 am, and my last one ended sometime after 8 pm. There were breaks in-between of course, for delicious meals and breezy walks around the grounds with my plant identification books. Not everyone had it quite so easy. I noticed several of my colleagues working right through meals, and I wouldn’t be surprised if Logistics Goddess Matt held meetings in his sleep.

photo of staff meeting by Dandy Denial
photo of staff meeting by Dandy Denial

The food here are something of a miracle for me. Back at home, I’ve been in charge of meals for over twenty years, so to have delicious, healthful, home-cooked food prepared for me three times a day is a pretty big deal. Again it’s work and love, and it feels pretty great to be on the receiving end.

When my last meeting came to an end this evening, I sat out in the big field and watched the stars, and I unpacked a few hard feelings I hadn’t had time to deal with in the rush if the day. Mostly it was a little homesickness, and that feeling when everyone knows each other except you, and a little frustration about being the new girl and needing lots of help and explanations and not always grasping the lingo. As I sat with the feelings for a while it occurred to me that tomorrow night there could be a first year camper in this very spot, under these very stars, with these very same feelings. It’s okay, new camper. In a day or two we’re going to have this down, and we’re going to take home more memories and new friends than we ever thought possible.

