Day 8 (Oregon Session 2~by Milo)

We’re in session at Camp Myrtlewood in Oregon – this is a guest post by camper Milo.

SONY DSC

I’ll be honest, I don’t remember much of the day. It went by all too quickly, and I wish I could explain how much that devastates me. It was a rest day and wake-up call was pushed back an hour, so I got to sleep in. Breakfast was about the same as usual; eggs, potatoes, and water. It sounds simplistic, and it is, but that certainly isn’t a bad thing.

The morning meeting was handled well, and it addressed a few things that couldn’t go unnoticed. Trust Circle happened the day before and that always puts everyone in a weird mood. It gave the whole day a strange mixture of happiness and depression. The rest of the day was a blur until a little bit after dinner, but before evening meeting. That was when I stopped to think about what I wanted to do with the second week of camp. It was also when I realized that the art show was happening that night. There was a small period of time I used to get ready, and I headed to the lodge. The art show has always been one of my favorite camp events, mostly because it’s an excuse to dress myself up and look at things people have made that I could never dream of duplicating. There was art in almost every form. Paintings, drawings, photographs, music. Out of it all, my favorite was a piece called “Surrender,” depicting a person on their knees, arms suspended above a head hung low. It reminded me of myself.

After the art show, me and a group of friends decided to go to the fire pit and see if we could start a fire. It took a while to get it going, but it was fantastic when we did. It was quiet, both the stars and people were beautiful, and I couldn’t imagine a better end to the night. And so concludes the day I nearly forgot.

photo by Dandy Denial

