Day 7 (Vermont ~ by Maya M.)

We’re nearing the end of a wonderful week in Vermont at Farm & Wilderness. This is a guest post by camper Maya M.

IMG_2566

I started the day a little earlier than most campers. It was my friend Jeremy’s birthday, so I got a few other campers to do a musical wake up call with me so we could sing him happy birthday in bed. It’s his first year at NBTSC and since he had his birthday here I wanted to make it the best possible birthday it could be.

When I came back to the farmhouse I had some really nice conversations with some campers that I hadn’t yet connected with over breakfast. We talked about the places we live and where we want to live when we’re older and stuff like that. I sometimes get caught up in just talking to my close friends, but it’s really nice to open up and talk to new people, because those can be the best conversations. Today was probably the best day for me at camp so far, because I finally felt like I was connecting with everyone and doing all the things I had been intending to do.

After breakfast we had community meeting, and then advisee group. My advisor is Tilke, and I really love having her as an advisor as well as having everyone else in my group. I feel like we all connect so well and we always have tons of fun.

This afternoon there were a lot of workshop slots, and I went to a basic gymnastics workshop that was taught by my friend Iris. I used to be a gymnast about four years ago, and for some reason I stopped (I can’t remember why) so I wanted to get back into it again. It was harder than I thought, but I guess that happens when you’re out of practice for so long. It was fun though, and ever since then I’ve been really, really sore. After that workshop we had lunch, and everyone was making tables outside out of milk crates. It was fun to eat there, and everyone was calling it a “crate lunch.”

A little bit later there were huge games of capture the flag put together. I played all of them, which was lots of fun, but I probably shouldn’t have because it was really cold and I started to feel a little sick. I soon went inside and found a warm place to hangout with some people. We had some really nice conversations that made me feel really good and connected, another reason why it was my best day. Before long the dinner bell rang, and it was pizza night! I barely got any pizza before it all ran out, which was okay because they brought out extra food and I then witnessed an applesauce eating contest, which was really entertaining.

Then the best part of the day – prom! It was a vintage mystery theme, and I wore a 20’s flapper dress that my mom made. Me and my friend Maddy took all the prom pictures; there was a photo booth and then a runway where people could show off their outfits. This prom was definitely one of my favorites of the sessions I’ve been to as the music was really great and there were a lot of people dancing for the whole thing. We all danced until about 1am, and then I went to bed.

That was my day, thanks for reading!

Photo by Maya M.
Photo by Maya M.
Photo by Maya M.
Photo by Maya M.
Photo by Maya M.
Photo by Maya M.
Photo by Maya M.
Photo by Maya M.
Photo by Maya M.
Photo by Maya M.
