Day 8 (Vermont ~ by Emi McLellan)

We’re treasuring the moments of our last full day of camp. We’re all pretty busy making the most of the end of our time together, so instead of a regular post, culminating camper Emi McLellan has agreed to post her culmination speech she’ll share with us as a group tonight, as she transitions out of her many years as a camper.

IMG_2555

So all week I have been trying to put into words what camp is and what camp means to me, how much camp has affected and changed who I am. I have been failing at this pretty terribly. Because camp isn’t words to me, camp is a feeling. Camp is warm hugs and tea and new friends and old friends, and camp is love. I fear who I would have become without camp and all you beautiful people who have helped shape the world I live in now. I have met some of my best friends here, I met the first person I fell in love with here, I had my first kiss here, and I became a new person here. As I move on to the next phase of my life I am hopeful it won’t be goodbye just farewell to the child I once was and hello to the new person I have become. I want to say something about how amazing the staffers are but I fear I could never put it into words how much they have influenced my life, how much they have inspired me and helped me grow, even the ones I’ve never had a conversation with have helped me so much. Evan, I don’t know how to thank you for everything you have done for me over the years, weather it was just a hug when I needed it, sheltering me from the rain, or making a sassy comment, you have inspired me and made camp feel like home.

“You’ll find, where ever you roam that marble floors and gilded walls can never make a home. But every house where love abides, and friendship is a guest, is surly home, and home sweet home: for there the heart can rest.” ~ Henry Van Dyke

